How do I Reset FruitJuice’s Database?

CAUTION: this completely removes all historical information irrevocably.

If you want to reset FruitJuice to start fresh with a new database, select Quit from the FruitJuice menu while holding down the Option key.

How do I Uninstall FruitJuice?

We appreciate you taking the time to download and try FruitJuice.

If you would like to remove it from your Mac, you can do the following:

1) Select ‘Quit FruitJuice’ from the menu.

2) Move the FruitJuice application from your Applications folder to the trash (and empty the trash).

3) To remove the data files, delete the following folder:

(Your Home Directory) > Library > Containers > com.batteryProject.FruitJuiceMAS

Please let us know if you need further assistance.

Allso, while we understand that FruitJuice might not be suitable for everyone, we are curious to know what influenced your decision to not continue using it.

After updating to version 2.2.6, why does FruitJuice seem to disappear from the menu?

This seems to be an issue with the preferences after this update that causes the menu to appear blank even though you can pull down the FruitJuice menu. We are working on an update to address this.

Until that fix is available, the following steps should correct the issue:

1) Quit FruitJuice
2) Delete the following file:

(Your Home Directory) > Library > Containers > com.batteryProject.FruitJuiceMAS > Data > Library > Application Support > com.batteryProject.FruitJuice > FruitJuicePrefs.plist

3) Restart FruitJuice.

Why does FruitJuice keep asking me to set it as a login item?

For some users, even though FruitJuice is set to start at login (and does, indeed, start at login), it may indicate otherwise. There is a work-around for this message.

All you need to do is place an empty text file named “1324.txt” in the following directory:

(Your Home Directory) > Library > Containers > com.batteryProject.FruitJuiceMAS > Data > Library > Application Support > com.batteryProject.FruitJuice

The next time FruitJuice starts up, no matter what, it will skip the start at login message.

 

Note: To navigate to your “Library” folder, in the Finder, you can open the “Go” menu while holding the Option key and there will be a “Library” option.

How to use FruitJuice on a new machine (or new battery)

In order to reset the accumulated usage information for either a new machine or new battery, simply hold down the option (?) key while selecting “Quit” from the FruitJuice menu.
FruitJuice will need to be restarted and will start accumulating data for the new machine/battery right away.
This capability was added in 2.2.4.

What does the “Battery Time for Today / Target” mean?

A couple of days after you first start running FruitJuice, it begins to calculate a “target battery time” for each day.

This is the recommended amount of time to run off of battery power for the day.

It looks at the average usage time (on battery or plugged in) for the previous 7 days and then takes 20% of that average to generate the daily target.

The target is a minimum amount of time to spend on battery. Beyond that, you are free to run on battery or plugged in as your situation dictates.

The “Battery Time for Today” is just that: a running total of time spent on battery today.

About Factory Capacity and Lifespan

To quote the Apple notebook battery page, “The built-in battery of your MacBook Pro or MacBook Air is designed to deliver up to 1000 full charge and discharge cycles before it reaches 80 percent of its original capacity.”

Apple does not tell you how to find out what your current percentage is. FruitJuice can! We report “Factory Capacity Percent” as relative to the battery’s “original capacity” (as noted on that Apple page).

The FruitJuice Lifespan indicator (filled pie) shows how many charge and discharge cycles your battery has seen relative to the “1000 full charge and discharge cycles” noted on Apple’s page. For some machines, like first generation MacBook Air’s, this number is less than 1000. If you hover over either of these items on the Battery Information screen, you can see the actual numbers.

Related Topics:

About the Battery Maintenance Process

If you read Apple’s About Notebook Batteries page, you will see that they recommend using your machine on battery power regularly. If your machine is plugged in most of the time, then Apple recommends that you charge and discharge your battery about once a month.

A FruitJuice Maintenance Cycle consists of charging your battery to full and then discharging (i.e. running on battery) until the percent charge drops below 20%.

FruitJuice will use the system Notification Center to walk you through the process and will let you know when you’re done.

FruitJuice knows how much time you spend on battery compared to your overall usage time.

Using this information, FruitJuice recommends how much time to spend on battery each day. If you follow these recommendations, then you will likely never see the Maintenance Cycle (aside from the initial one we suggest). If you do not follow these recommendations, then FruitJuice will recommend you perform a Maintenance Cycle. If you do run a maintenance cycle, you will not see another one for at least 30 days.

Why does Max Capacity sometimes go down after a Maintenance Cycle?

When you run your battery through a calibration/conditioning cycle, sometimes there is a decrease in reported capacity.

This is because, as the battery ages, there is a decrease in capacity! Notebook batteries, like other batteries, do have a limited lifespan.
[Read more…]

Charge Indicator Stays Amber, Won’t Turn Green

That is, why does the light not turn from amber to green even if the battery should be fully charged?
Some batteries may not appear to be charging properly (i.e. they are “stuck” at a certain percentage or don’t reach “green light” fully charged status).
A System Management Controller (SMC) reset is likely in order:
FruitJuice 2.3